Change text size:   Increase font size   Reduce font size  |   Print page:   Print this page
  |   Contact us   

Co-operatives legislation in NSW 

NSW co-operatives are registered under the Co-operatives National Law applied in NSW by the Co-operatives (Adoption of National Law) Act 2012.

NSW Fair Trading's Registry Services administers the following co-operative's legislation:


National regulatory scheme 

For background to the CNL/AUCLA national regulatory scheme for co-operatives and for the dates the CNL commenced in other States and Territories refer to the Co-operatives National Law page maintained by NSW on behalf of the States and Territories.

Top of page

NSW orders and exemptions 

A number of orders and exemptions have been made to support the effective operation of the Co-operatives National Law in New South Wales. These are:

Prior approval of rule amendments (PDF size: 110kb)

This order under section 60(2) specifies the amendments to co-operative’s rules that require prior approval of the Registrar. 

Class exemption (PDF size: 91kb)

This provides an exemption under section 71(1) for classes of distributing co-operatives from the disclosure requirements set out in Division 2 of Part 2.4 of the CNL.

Top of page


Prescribed forms are those forms set out in Schedule 4 of the Co-operatives National Regulations.

Approved forms are those approved by Fair Trading for various applications, including financial reporting and notification, where no form has been prescribed.

Top of page

Schedule of fees 

For prescribed fees under the CNL go to Co-operatives fees and charges.

Top of page

Further information 

For further information please contact:

Registry Services
PO Box 22
Bathurst NSW 2795
Telephone: 02 6333 1400
Freecall: 1800 502 042

Top of page

Get a free copy of Adobe Acrobat Reader so you can access PDF versions of our information.