Co-operative housing and Starr-Bowkett societies

As of 1 July 2019, no new Co-operative Housing Society or Starr-Bowkett Society may be formed or registered. Existing societies may continue to operate, however, Starr-Bowkett Societies cannot admit any new members.

Co-operative housing societies and Starr-Bowkett societies are lending institutions that provide funds for home ownership and/or other purposes to low and middle-income earners.

What are co-operative housing societies?

Co-operative housing societies are financial intermediaries that do not take deposits and directly lend funds to their members.

What are Starr-Bowkett societies?

Starr-Bowkett societies are a form of terminating building society - a mutual organisation where each depositor is a member of the organisation. These finite societies operate on a system based on providing interest-free or low-interest loans to members obtained from members’ pooled savings on a lottery basis.

What laws apply?

The main laws that apply to these societies are:

Schedule of fees

To view the prescribed fees for the lodgement of co-operative housing society and Starr-Bowkett documents, go to Co-operative Housing and Starr-Bowkett Societies fees


Copies of approved forms under the Co-operative Housing and Starr-Bowkett Societies legislation are available from Registry and Accreditation

(refer to contact details below).

Need more information?


Registry and Accreditation

Make an enquiry online

Tel: 02 6333 1400
Free Call: 1800 502 042

PO Box 22
Bathurst NSW 2795

Next Co-operatives legislation