Continuing professional development

All accredited certifiers are required to complete continuing professional development (CPD) to stay up-to-date with industry developments, skills, tools and knowledge, and statutory responsibilities. The accreditation scheme sets out an annual mandatory CPD program. Certifiers employed by a council must meet different requirements to certifiers in the private sector. The Building Professional Board sets CPD requirements but does not run the actual training courses.

Mandatory CPD program

The Board’s CPD program has two parts:

  • part 1 is mandatory for all certifiers, whether or not employed by a council
  • part 2 differs depending on whether a certifier is employed by a council.

Part 1: for all certifiers

All certifiers must complete CPD activities approved by the Board, which may include training in:

  • professional practice
  • relevant legislation such as the Building Professionals Act 2005
  • the accreditation scheme
  • the Building Code of Australia and/or relevant Australian Standards.

All new A1-A3 certifiers must complete a CPD course in complying development, in their first 12 months of accreditation. The Board has approved two training organisations to deliver this course:

  • AAC (online) - $660 GST inclusive
  • CPD Training (face-to-face) - $660 GST inclusive

Part 2: for private certifiers

If you’re a private certifier you must complete the CPD requirements of a professional association or equivalent (related to your area of technical specialty), in addition to the Board’s approved activities. You will not be required to attend more than five days of CPD activities in total each year.

Certifiers who work for a council, but do not hold ‘council’ accreditation, have the same CPD requirements as other private certifiers. If the word 'council' does not appear on your certificate of accreditation, then you have private certifier CPD requirements, even if you’re a council employee.

Part 2: for council certifiers

If you’re a council certifier you must, in addition to our approved CPD activities, complete training in your area of technical specialty:

  • during your first year of accreditation, a minimum of 4 hours of CPD
  • during your second year of accreditation, a minimum of 6 hours of CPD
  • during your third year of accreditation and each subsequent year, a minimum of 8 hours of CPD.

Training in areas of technical specialty may include, but is not limited to:

  • completing a building surveying course listed in the accreditation scheme (Part 2, Schedule 3)
  • participating in relevant short courses, seminars, conferences, workshops and committees
  • undertaking informal personal study such as reading relevant professional journals, manuals and books.

The Board will accept in-house training by councils towards CPD requirements, provided the training clearly meets the needs of building surveyors. Also, the Board periodically requires evidence of CPD completion.

E1 (swimming pool) certifier CPD

All category E1 swimming pool certifiers are required to complete 6 hours of continuing professional development (CPD) activities each year, from their second year of accreditation.

Which CPD activities has Fair Trading approved?

Approved activities appear below. Activities not listed below will not count towards CPD.

CPD Training: face to face activities

  • 'Interpreting AS 1926.1' (POOLCPD) worth 6 CPD hours
  • 'Swimming Pool Legislation' (3HRCPD) worth 3 CPD hours
  • An online activity worth up to 3 CPD hours (comprising three 1-hour webinars).

Visit the CPD Training website and navigate to 'Qualifications & Short Courses'.

CPD Training: online activities

Three 1-hour webinars worth up to 3 CPD hours (complete one, two or all three):

  • Interpreting AS 1926.1-2012 - Safety barriers for swimming pools
  • Roles and responsibilities of the E1 swimming pool certifier
  • NSW swimming pool legislation.

Visit the CPD Training website and choose 'online' from the top menu.

Royal Life Saving Society

'Drowning Deaths of Children in Private Swimming Pools', worth 2 CPD hours. Contact the Royal Life Saving Society.

University of Technology, Sydney

‘E1 Certification in Practice’, worth 6 CPD hours. Contact the University of Technology.

Do A1-A3 certifiers have to complete an extra six hours on top of their existing CPD?

No, but if you certify swimming pools you should include up to 6 hours of relevant activities in your CPD. The AAC and AIBS both grant CPD points for approved activities listed on this website.

How do I enrol in CPD?

Approved activities are listed above. Apply directly to the provider.

Do I have to prove that I've completed CPD?

Yes. Attach copies of attendance/completion certificates to your accreditation renewal form.

Can I carry over excess CPD hours into the following year?

No, you must complete at least 6 hours each year.

How can I have my CPD activity approved?

The activity must:

  • be delivered by a registered training organisation or an Australian university
  • be developed, presented and assessed by experienced and qualified staff
  • pass an independent review by one or more experts who are approved by Fair Trading.

More information

Can I nominate an expert to review my activity?

Yes, but Fair Trading must approve your nominee and may assign a different or additional expert to review your activity.

How often do activities need to be updated?

Fair Trading may require changes at any time and set a deadline for the updates. For example, changes will be needed to reflect legislative amendments. Significant changes may require a new independent review.

Can I amend an activity at any time?

You must first seek Fair Trading’s approval, unless Fair Trading requested the change.

What qualifications do CPD trainers and assessors need?

Trainers need, at minimum, a Certificate IV in Training and Assessment.
Assessors need, at minimum, a Certificate IV in Training and Assessment and relevant industry experience.

Do I need approval to change a trainer or assessor?


Prev Applying and renewing accreditation
Next Certification data reporting